

President's Report to the PCCD Board of Trustees



May 13, 2025,

President Melanie Dixon

Years of Service Celebration



On Friday, May 2, 2025 the college community came together to celebrate the countless years employees have contributed to the lives of students and the unwavering commitment CoA has to the community. We honored employees with 5+, 10+, 15+ and 20+ years of service to the College or Peralta District. We celebrated over a delicious meal with laughter and joy filling the room.





We gave flowers to those Nickey Heredia and Chungwai Chum for making the day magical. Their tireless efforts made the day a memmroable one for all who attended this first of its kind event. Thank YOU!

1





We acknowledged employees dedicated to shaping the lives of students in and out of the classroom.





We distributed Excellence Awards to those who personify the CoA spirit through high quality service, academic innovation, and community engagement. Our students voted Jeremiah Potti as the Student Excellence Award winner. Ann Gormley, VP of Operations for Associated Students shared a personal story about how Jeremiah impacted her life by providing support and creating a warm environment making students feel safe and welcomed. Dean Celhay received the Administrator Excellence Award for creating a clam and safe environment during a time of uncertainty. Her leadership and compassion were emphasized in the feedback supporting the nomination.

Our classified profesconstituency group selected Selwyn Montgomery as the Classified Professional Excellence Award recipient. One nomnator highlighted Selwyn as a bright light and represents he essence of CoA. His willingnes to help anyone in need is a great reminder of the importance of showing up for one another in service to students. Our final awardee, OJ Roundtree is a long time faculty member in the Appaeral Design and Merchandising (ADAM) Program. His tenure has influenced the lives of his collegues, students and community partners. Professor Roundtree is not only a top notch educator but he is an incredible human being passionate about his craft. It's apropos for the first Faculty Excellence Award to be given to Professor Roundtree. We congratulate all of the Excelence Award winners for modeling excellence and leadership.





We extend gratitude to all employees who attended the Years of Service Celebration:

Alisi Ika Andrew Park

Anne Gormley (Student)

Ava Lee

Bala Sampathraj Ben Hutchison Betty Frias Brian Donato Carla Pegues Chevonn Herbert

Chungwai Chum

Cristiana Gomez (Student)

Cynthia Haro Didem Ekici Drew Burgess Eva Jennings

Fathia Mohammed

Hoi Ko

Jayne Smithson Jennifer Fowler Jeremiah Poti Jiayu He

John Nguyen

Jubilee Lew (student) Juliana Garcia Uribe Julie de Guzman

Julie Pich Deap (student)

Kawanna Rollins LaShawn Brumfield

Laura Aguilar
Lilia Celhay
Marcus Creel
Margarita Pinilla
Marissa Nakano
Marivic Lizardo
Matthew Goldstein
Melanie Dixon
Michelle Chen
Michelle Custino

Min Wu

Munira Ahmed

Mildred Lewis

Natalie Rodriguez

Nickey Heredia

Nicole Porter
OJ Roundtree

Pedro De La Rosa

Rachel Goodwin Rhi Follenfant

Robin "Bernard" Ward

Rochelle Olive

Selwyn Montgomery

Shawn Foster Shuntel Nathaniel Stephanie Le

Stephanie Ulrey Saurav Pudasaini Susanne Altenbach

Vanson Nguyen Vincent Catacutan

Wanda Lee Wendy Odath

Yolanda Young

College of Alameda Showcase

On Tuesday, April 22, 2025, CoA hosted the Board of Trustees meeting providing a unique opportunity to display academic programs and support services available to our students. Members of the Board of Trustees arrived on campus at 4PM to take a tour of the following areas:

- New Transportation Center Auto Body/Auto Tech and Diesel Mechanics
- Basic Needs Center and Pantry
- Art Gallery and Department
- Apparel Design and Merchandising Program









We offered two spotlight presentations during the regular session:

- Derek Piazza, Apparel Design and Merchandising (ADAM) Program
- Jeremy Simmons, Basic Needs Center





Both presentations were informative and impactful. Attendees left the meeting inspired and we look forward to the opportunity to highlight other programs and services in the future. We extend a special thanks to Mark Johnson, Faiza Ali, Angel Hunter, Joe Sullivan, Bendi Yilmaz, Marcus Creel, Cecy Vazquez, and Dom Abney.